Its a wrap for the surf club

Members of the Coolum Surf Life Saving Club celebrated the conclusion of the 2008-09 season with an annual dinner attended by about 150 members, family and friends.

Recognition was given to members who contributed to another successful year, either by contributing to maintaining the club’s safe beach policy and/or by succeeding competitively.

In particular, acclamation was given to winners at the Australian titles, and winners of six gold medals at the Queensland titles, along with other members who helped Coolum Surf Life Saving Club earn second place in both the Senior and Masters Handicap Club Point Score category at the Queensland titles.

Patrol No.13, represented by G. Barben, L. Dixon, J. Ellingsen and I. Norman, won the inaugural President’s Trophy Patrol competition for 2008-2009.

The competition included questions regarding communication signals either via flags or radio, a rescue tube swim and lastly resuscitation and first aid scenarios, addressing situations such as a patient not breathing, snake bite etc.

Age Club Championship winners:

Junior male: Jaydon Matt-West; Open female: Michelle Dunning; Open male: Connor McGrath and Michael Brooks; Masters female: Erica Henderson; Masters male: Nigel Morton; Veteran male: David Cush.

There has been a resurgence of members interested in competing for the club, particularly in the masters division (30 years and over), which is expected to continue next season.

Best patrol members:

Patrol 1: John Roderick

Patrol 2: Glen Edwards

Patrol 3: Troy Slade

Patrol 4: Alistair McGregor

Patrol 5: Julie Wingrave

Patrol 6: Chris Smithies

Patrol 7: Mark Dearing

Patrol 8: Jax Kotzur

Patrol 9: Jon Warrington

Patrol 10: Sel and Val McVie

Patrol 11: Erica Henderson

Patrol 12: Jonathan Hayes

Patrol 13: Karen Ho

Patrol 14: Ian Suthers

Patrol 15: Bryce Hammond

Patrol 16: Greg Whiteley

Best club patrol member: Mark Dearing

Perpetual Trophy Winners

The Michael Rutledge Trophy: Michael Brooks

Most Promising New Club Member: Warren Foxwell; Most Dedicated Cadet (Under 16): Alex Hopley; Junior Lifesaver Of The Year (Under 19): Michael Cocks; Best Radio Operator: Gordon Lockyer; Acer Cameron Trophy: Michael Daly; Sting Zillman Award: John Roderick; V. and H. Black Meritorious Award: Jim Priddle.

Michael Daly was presented his life membership jacket by club president David Cush.

The evening was enjoyed by all, with plenty of praise to the new Sandbar chef Tim, who created a memorable menu for the evening.

Our thanks also go to Rob and The Event Truck Company who assisted the production of this year’s presentation night.

Any member of the Coolum community who has at some stage been a lifesaver or would like to become one, please contact me on 5446 1148 or drop in to the club between 8.30am and 4.30pm, Monday to Friday and get more details.

This year’s AGM will be on Saturday, June 20 at 12 noon. Due to renovations at the club, it will be held at the CWA hall in Coolum Terrace.

Plastic bag ban? What ban?

Plastic bag ban? What ban?

“Great job Woolworths replacing plastic bags with plastic bags!'

The Heart of Man review: Raw stories worth telling

The Heart of Man review: Raw stories worth telling

Movies uses spectacular scenery and imagery to tell tales of lust

Indie Armstrong's family 'overwhelmed' by flood of support

Indie Armstrong's family 'overwhelmed' by flood of support

Community back family after tragic accident

Local Partners